Our History

The amalgamation of the Petro Jackson Fund and Chris Burger Fund took place in 1992, following the unification of the South African Rugby Union and the former SA Rugby Board. 

Chris Burger was a Western Province fullback when he sustained a fatal neck injury in 1980 following a tackle during a Currie Cup match in Bloemfontein.

This led to the founding of the then Chris Burger Fund by the Western Province captain at the time, Morné du Plessis, along with his teammates.

Petro Jackson was a young player from Kylemore, near Stellenbosch, who was also fatally injured following a neck injury during a match in 1987. A similar fund was established in his honour.

Christiaan Petrus Bernard Burger, known as Chris, aged 28 (DOB 6 March 1952), was a Western Province rugby player who was playing fullback when he sustained a catastrophic neck injury during a Currie Cup match in Bloemfontein on 30 August 1980. He passed away the following day from his injuries. This tragic accident led to the founding of the Chris Burger Fund by the then WP rugby captain Morné du Plessis and his teammates. His widow and daughter, Esmarie, who was 18 months at the time of his death, still live in Cape Town.

Petro Jackson aged 23 (DOB 2 January 1964) was a young rugby player who played wing for his hometown Kylemore,near Stellenbosch. He sustained a catastrophic neck injury during a zone competition club match played against Excelsior on the 11 April 1987. Petro was tackled close to the touchline which carried him over a gravel path which ran close to the field and into an asbestos barrier. Petro did not get up from where he lay and it soon became apparent that he was seriously injured. Sadly he passed away before the arrival of the ambulance. His tragic death prompted the pre-unity body SARU (not to be confused with the current South African Rugby Union) to establish a similar fund in his honour – The Petro Jackson Memorial Fund.

The following members have proudly served on various committees of the Players’ Fund over the years:

  • Tubby Teubes 

  • HO de Villiers

  • Mike Meintjes 

  • Francois Majoos 

  • Xhanti Lamani

  • Billy Wilson

  • Graham Barends 

  • Piet Lombard

  • Harold Verster

  • Edrich Krantz

  • Tobie Hanekom

  • Ivor Bloom

  • Larriane Hlapoloso

  • Boy Louw 

  • Schalk Burger Snr

  • Tiny Neethling 

  • Peter Jooste

  • Harold Wilson

  • Lex Mpati

  • Ben Groepes

  • Nico Louw

  • Anton Barnard


  • Iszak de Villiers

  • John Pickering

  • Piet Greyling

  • Roger Williams

  • SJ de Villiers

  • Denys Hobson

  • Richard Prentis

  • David Melvill

  • Daan du Plessis

  • Anton Barnard

  • Jean Brider

  • Vincent Rootman

  • Bill Crossman

  • Jerry Brynard

  • Hennie Bekker

  • Rob Louw

  • Robbie Blair

  • Ismail Jakoet

  • George Rautenbach

  • Joel Stransky

  • Pat Tebbutt

  • Peter Whipp

  • Norman Mbiko

  • Jurie Roux

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

* indicates required